Contact Information

Oak Avenue, Manhattan Beach, California 90266

Contact Us

In Australia’s 17-player limited-overs squad to tour New Zealand in March and April, Ellyse Perry was named, marking her return from a severe hamstring injury.

On March 28, 30 and April 1, Australia will take on New Zealand in three T20 internationals.

The two teams will then play in three ODIs from April 4 for the Rose Bowl Trophy, with all three games taking place at Mount Maunganui.

A strong squad to be captained by Meg Lanning is headlined by Perry, who injured her hamstring in the Women’s T20 World Cup, missing out on the final at the MCG.

After being named in the squad for the first time, Darcie Brown (South Australia) and Hannah Darlington (NSW) will definitely make their debuts.

Selector Shawn Flegler claimed that the young players’ domestic form was essential to their inclusion.

“Since the completion of our home series against New Zealand in October, the players have completed a full WBBL campaign, followed by a period of rest and recovery before reconvening for the beginning of the WNCL campaign,” Flegler said.

“Throughout that period the likes of Darcie Brown and Hannah Darlington have impressed us with their skill and professionalism, and we are delighted to reward them with selection in this squad.”

In both formats, Flegler said the potential of 17-year-old Brown to bowl rapid outswing was a key factor, while Darlington will more be looked at for the T20 matches.

As a crucial boost for the side, Flegler also highlighted the return of Tayla Vlaeminck, as well as Perry, from injury.

READ:  San Pablo Burgos in Search of Further Global Glory

“[Vlaeminck] has been working her way back to full fitness in the WNCL with Victoria and we’ve already seen some devastating spells from her,” he said.

“Similarly, Ellyse Perry has been making solid progress in her return from a hamstring injury and we look forward to her taking part in this series after not featuring against New Zealand in September and October.”

At Allan Border Field in Brisbane in October last year, Australia beat New Zealand 2-1 in their three-match T20I series.

A 13-game winless streak in all formats was arrested by New Zealand’s five-wicket win in the third T20I, but the Kiwis couldn’t build on that win as Australia steamrolled the visitors 3-0 in the ODI series.

Australia equalled the world record for consecutive ODI triumphs with that 3-0 ODI series victory, matching the 21 consecutive victories set by the men’s team of Ricky Ponting in 2003.

Australia have won ODI games nine-straight against New Zealand and seven of the last eight T20Is.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments